Free Comic Book Day 2015 Part 2: Slipstream and Friends!

free-comic-book-dayPart 2 of my write up of the Free Comic Book Day event at Moving Pictures, Exeter. Part 1 can be found here.

There are many, many reasons I enjoy cosplay. I love enjoy the creative challenge of building the costume (most of the time, anyway – occasionally I hate it), and of course I love being able to share my fandom in a very public way. I also like how I look as a robot. Seriously if we had the technology to upload ourselves into robot bodies, I would be elbowing my way to the front of the queue right now. But another reason why cosplay fills me with such glee is the confidence boost that comes with dressing up. I am an introvert and though I do fine with public speaking and in a people-facing role at work, when it comes to being spontaneously social and meeting new people I am, more often than, not just a bundle of awkward nerves. In costume, however, it’s different. The first time I went out as Arcee it was truly a revelation to me how much I  enjoyed the attention, and how much easier I found it to chat to other people. Slipstream was the same, and I really enjoyed interacting with passers-by and with some of the wonderful fellow costumers who came out to celebrate the wonder of free comics.

Seeing as in Transformers Animated Slipstream is voiced by the one and only Tara Strong  I think I can legitimately make the “Friendship is Magic” reference in this context. So here are some of the friends  – likely and less so – I made on Saturday:

Friendship is Magic!

Khorne Bezerker + Evil robot. Friendship is Magic Heresy!

 

All photos taken by Sadie Bennett for AddAltMode. Click to enlarge them. If I’ve featured you and not linked to your page and you’d like me to then do let me know and I’ll add it!

Courtesy of Staypuft Marshmallow Man Inflatable UK

We had a visitation! (Courtesy of Staypuft Marshmallow Man Inflatable UK)

Dsc_2392

But fortunately we knew exactly who to call….

Some cosptumes were bigger than others! Incredible Warhammer 40K build by Exeter Cosplay

Some costumes were bigger than others! Incredible Warhammer 40K build from Exeter Cosplay

 

And borrows his axe!

And borrows his axe!

 

Harley Quinn meets the Bezerker

Harley Quinn meets the Bezerker

Predators out in force thaks to the Scarey Knights. It was the little guy's first event in full costume.

Predators out in force thanks to the Scarey Knights.

It was the little guy's first event in full costume. He looked great!

It was the little guy’s first event in full costume. He looked great!

Dsc_2402

The Harlequins shopping centre had never been so scary

Dsc_2427

(Face) Hugs Time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simple but effective!

Simple but effective!

Dsc_2410

I bet someone got asked if they were Groot!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dsc_2403

A very well armed Assassin’s Creed cosplay.

 

.

 

 

Trying to get us all together was a bit like herding cats but here's a partial group shot

Trying to get us all together was a bit like herding cats but here’s a partial group shot: a nice mix of franchises / characters  here from Ghostbusters to Tomb Raider via Guardians of the Galaxy and some lovely LARPers to boot!

 

For those who described Pacific Rim as "Godzilla meets Transformers" this is your Pacific Rim.

For those who described Pacific Rim as “Godzilla meets Transformers” this is your Pacific Rim.

Harley and Slippy

I think “Harley” and “Slippy” would do a pretty good team up, don’t you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also got to meet “Chrissy Jedi Bear and Friends“: a whole array of impressively done geek teddies from Teddy Vader to Teddy Thor, who have been to loads events raising money for charity. They have a lovely photo album of all the stars from film and TV who’ve posed with the bears on their travels. I enjoyed having my pic taken with Iron Man bear (Teddy Stark?)

Check out the Chrissy jedi Bear Facebook here

I hope you enjoyed the pics! A good day was had by all: comics and general geekery were duly celebrated and money raised for good causes too!

Parting observation time, then, and a question for other cosplayers. Those of you who’ve done quite a few costumes over the years, do you find you’ve developed a preference for either “goodies”or “baddies”? Now I’ve got an Autobot and a Decepticon to play with I’ve been pondering this. I love being Arcee but I have to admit I found it more fun to interact with people as Slipstream because she’s meaner.

Or maybe it’s a weapon thing. I don’t have a weapon as Arcee (I would like to upgrade the costume to add her arm blades at some point) so most of my poses were either hands on hips or fists up ”action girl” type poses. But with Slipstream I could look scornful and threaten everyone with my blasters and I had a real blast (bad pun unintentional). The kids seemed to love that too. There’s something fun about playing evil – maybe that’s why we always see so many more Sith and Stormtroopers at conventions than we do Jedi. Or maybe I was just reveling in the novelty of a new costume, ask me again about the good vs evil thing after I’ve been to a few more events!

6 thoughts on “Free Comic Book Day 2015 Part 2: Slipstream and Friends!

    • Isn’t it just? I couldn’t stay right to the end of the day as I had a birthday to go to in the evening but apparently Stay Pufft deflating was quite a sight too!

      Like

  1. That little predator is my grandson Leon, he had the most amazing day. Everyone looked fabulous in thier costumes and worked really hard to make the day a success.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. I thought Leon looked fantastic and I’m so glad to hear he enjoyed himself so much, I certainly did too. The whole day had a lovely atmosphere thanks to the great people who came along. I was glad to have been a part of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

