Here Be Dragons! TrollArt Fantasy Design

OK, who likes dragons? Everyone likes dragons don’t they? Except fantasy medieval peasants in thatched roofed cottages, they probably don’t and with good reason. But for the rest of us, dragons are awesome. Just like a certain Daenerys Targaryen, I have three dragons in my life, although the way I acquired mine was a little less extreme than how she hatched hers. My dragons come from an amazing German Fantasy merchandise company called TrollArt Fantasy Design. They sell a range of stuff, from troll and elf figures to steampunk accessories, but the main attraction has to be their lovely plush dragons, which are available in a range of colours, textures and sizes. Here are mine:

Plush dragons from TrollArt

Plush dragons from TrollArt

They are bean filled, so are quite huggable but their wings are softly wired so they can also be displayed in a pleasingly diverse number of ways: draped over anything from necks and shoulders – fantasy scarf style – to banisters. I keep mine on a clothes rail we’ve fitted in the alcove in our living room and they always seem to be a talking point when we have visitors.

I first encountered TrollArt via their trade stand in the “Black Market” at  the Wave Gotik Treffen festival in Leipzig, Germany. B and I went to our first Treffen in 2012: it’s a wonderful event. We always see a ton of bands (usually 15-20 each time, spanning genres from black metal to indie, as well as the old school goth bands you’d expect given the festival’s moniker). But the Treffen is so much more than just a music festival, think of it more as a big old convention for goths, with all the dressing up, shopping opportunities, talks, exhibitions and performances you’d expect from such a thing. It’s just a convention for all things dark rather than nerdy! Anyway, I absolutely fell in love with the dragons on sale the first time I saw them at the Troll Art stand, so that’s when I bought my first one – who I named Titus. I hope you all still name your plushies too, don’t you? Tell me you do.

Dsc01675

Meet Titus

Titus

My first dragon! Majestic dragon leader. May like shinies.

The Wave Gotik Treffen takes place annually, and though we don’t go every year, we have made it over to Leipzig twice more since the year that I acquired Titus. Buying a TrollArt Dragon in the Black Market has become a bit of a Treffen Tradition for me now,  just as much as drinking mead and watching folk bands on the open air stage in the Heidnisches Dorf (Pagan Village) has done.

So Titus now has two friends. In 2013 I picked up Sastrugi:

Meet Sastrugi

Meet Sastrugi

Dsc01687

Probably some kind of Ice dragon, either that or the party healer.

And after our German jaunt last month the pair have now been joined by Swingo:

Swingo

And here’s Swingo

Dsc01689

Fire dude, for sure. Thinks he’s kind of a big deal.

Some of the dragons for sale on the stand and in the web-shop had more fluff on them, which looks quite endearing, but I prefer the classic felt spikes on their backs so all three of mine have these. As the alpha fantasy predator I always think dragons should have a bit of a majestic look to them, even if they’re made of fabric. TrollArt’s designs seem perfectly to straddle the line between regal and cute.

Just call me Mother of Dragons

Just call me Mother of Dragons!

Dsc01695

Triple Dragon, bro!

Do check out the TrollArt web shop here.

So there you go, see, it isn’t quite plastic robots 24/7 Chez Addaltmode! Do any of you have any nice or unusual plushies in your collections?

Leave a Reply

